top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Byte Online News

Adderall Abuse on the Rise in the UK



Lisa Hallett* is a third-year sociology student studying at the University of Westminster. She first discovered Adderall through an American in her class who has his prescription sent over from the United States. Lisa has since been buying the stimulant online on a regular basis. She agreed to an interview under the strict condition that she wasn’t filmed, and I paid for her quadruple shot coffee.


We met in a trendy coffee shop in Kingston, where she lives in a shared house with six other students from various universities in London, all of whom frequently use Adderall as a study aid. I couldn’t help but notice that she looked in desperate need of sleep, and that quadruple shot coffee. I wondered if she’d been awake all night.

Thank you for speaking to me on such short notice.

It’s no problem. I think it’s about time somebody spoke to me, I’ve pretty much become the amphetamine queen of London now. It’s such an interesting drug, really gets you wired and brings out the full potential of your mind. Have you tried it?


Once. I can’t say I liked it much, made my heart beat wildly and I spent an entire night cataloguing and re-cataloguing my DVD collection. Can I ask how you first came across Adderall?

You mean because it’s not medicine here? The American in one of my classes has it prescribed, don’t think he’s actually ADHD but you know, you can get it for anything over there. I don’t know why it’s such a big deal here honestly. I mean, why is it illegal? I reckon because it allows your brain to actually do the things the government don’t'nt [Sic] want you to.


So, you don’t think Adderall should be a class B drug?

Why should it be? They give it to kids in America. Anything child-friendly shouldn’t be illegal. It’s crazy f***ing daft! I mean I totally get that it makes you feel good, but that shouldn’t mean it’s not legal. Without it I couldn’t do my course.


But what about all the side-effects and the stress it puts on your body?

I saw that Netflix documentary. I don’t think I’m going to have a stroke or heart problem though. I know how to use it safely and I don’t go overboard. Neither does anyone I know. One of my housemates sat up all night writing the same sentence over and over again, but that’s the worst I’ve seen. Nothing big. Nothing scary. I think that stuff is just…umm… well, trying to scare us so we won’t take it and do better than they want us to.


Who’s “they”?

You know, the man! The big bosses up top who want to keep all of us tiny ants running around like headless chickens and not make it up to their level.


You make it sound like some sort of conspiracy.

Hmmm…


What do you make of the scientific evidence that points towards Adderall only giving the human mind the impression it’s able to do more.

I know what it does. I’ve felt it. It enables me to zone into my work and work harder, better, more enthusiastic than without it. Science can try to say it doesn’t really work, and that it’s dangerous, but it’s not true. I’ve been up all night and banged out 3 essays, and they’re all really good. Who else can say that!?


You do look like you’re in need of a rest.

That’s just it. I’m not. I’m wired and ready to go even now.


So, you don’t believe there are any downsides to taking amphetamine based stimulants?

There are downsides to everything. But until I have a heart attack- which I won’t by the way- I can’t see myself going a day without my miracle drug. For me it’s like caffeine, it gets me up in the morning.


*name has been changed as the interviewee wished to remain anonymous


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by TheHours. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page